top of page

The Karikari Foundation's Speech @ Miss Pride of Africa


Our Founder, Philippa, had the privilege of delivering a profound speech for the first time, to an audience of over 100 people at the finals of Miss Pride of Africa UK.


Miss Pride of Africa is a charitable beauty pageant, giving young women of African decent the chance to develop themselves, their passions and lastly become an inspiring leader within their community.


For this segment, finalists were asked to pitch and explain a social issue that is significant to them and what they would do to tackle this if they were crowned.


This was an extraordinary opportunity to promote the original dream of The Karikari Foundation, in a room full of established leaders and pioneers such as Mavis Osei, King Smade and a multitude of Pageant Queens and ambassadors.


Watch Philippa's speech on desktop 0:00-2:00

Full transcript below


"Good evening ladies and gentlemen, judges and special guests.

My name is Philippa Karikari and I am contestant no. 1, representing Ghana.

Sometimes we don't realise the blessings and privileges we have in this life. Sometimes we see minor hardships as pain, like losing our job or having the bus go past you at 1am when you clearly put your hand out. (Not saying that happened to me) But pain isn't losing things like that. Imagine a lifetime of disadvantage. Imagine not being able to communicate with your peers or being able to go outside.

That's why my campaign is about improving the Quality of Life for disabled children in Ghana. I strive to make a social impact that will go beyond this show. Over the last two years I've worked as a health care assistant and I would like to use my skills and knowledge, to go back to Ghana and support my country's health and social care services.

I will design community integration, interactive workshops and learning tools to support their child development. Helping them live a more fulfilled life. I will always have minor difficulties in my life but at the back of my mind I will always remember the consistent hardship other people around the world go through.

And because of this, this life mission will stick with me forever. And I would like your help today, if you crown me your Queen- Miss Pride of Africa UK, I will go back to Ghana and fulfil this mission.

Thank you very much."


Philippa received the great title of first Princess of the night and is now able to develop the Karikari Foundation with the assistance of the Miss Pride of Africa organisation.



Special thanks to CEO Mrz Biggz, all our sponsors, supporters and organisers in the first stage of our Founder's journey.


-The Karikari Foundation





27 views0 comments
🎈*WE ARE LIVE! 17.6.20*🎈
Don’t Miss Out, Donate Now! >>> 
  • White LinkedIn Icon
  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Twitter Icon
  • White Instagram Icon
bottom of page